Central Office Administrator Evaluation Rubrics

SuperEval offers different evaluations for various central office roles.

The California Professional Standards for Education Leaders (CPSEL) identify the skills and knowledge needed by school leaders to sustain effective school leadership. Used throughout California, CPSEL describe the professional practices of educational leadership for the development and growth of leaders throughout their careers.

The standards are organized into six categories:
1. Development and Implementation of a Shared Vision
2. Instructional Leadership
3. Management and Learning Environment
4. Family and Community Engagement
5. Ethics and Integrity
6. External Context and Policy

Within each category are elements highlighting additional areas of focus within the standard. The indicators offer some examples of how an education leader might demonstrate the element or standard within his or her practice. These standards are used for central office school administrator evaluations.

Central Office Administrator Central Office Director Principal Assistant Principal
Rubric Author: Commission on Teacher Credentialing (CTC) and California Department of Education

Visit Site to learn more

This evaluation rubric was developed by a taskforce from the Washington Association of School Administrators (WASA), based on leadership categories identified in research from OSPI’s Characteristics of Improved School Districts: Categories and Themes (Shannon, G.S., & Bylsma, P., October 2004).

The framework is organized in four criteria or domains including: Effective Leadership, Quality Teaching and Learning Support, System-wide Improvement, and Clear and Collaborative Relationships.

The taskforce also drew ideas from the following sources:

Central Office Transformation for District-Wide Teaching and Learning Improvement (Honig, M.I., Copland, M.A., Rainey, L., Lorton, J. A., & Newton, M., April 2010)

McREL’s School District Leadership that Works: The Effect of Superintendent Leadership on Student Achievement (Waters, J.T., & Marzano, R.J., September 2006)

The New Central Office (Novak, D., Reilly, M., & Williams, D., June 2010)

Assistant Superintendent Central Office Administrator Central Office Directors
Rubric Author: Washington Association of School Administrators

Visit Site to learn more

Developed by the Pennsylvania Department of Education, the Framework for Leadership (FFL) consists of 20 leadership practices which are organized within four domains:
1. Strategic/Cultural Leadership
2. Systems Leadership
3. Leadership for Learning
4. Professional and Community Leadership

The FFL is widely used in the principal evaluation process throughout the Commonwealth. In addition, other school and district leaders use the FFL for their own leadership evaluations.

Click here to read a reliability study from REL Mid-Atlantic about the FFL.

Rubric Author: "Pennsylvania Department of Education (PDE)"

Download Rubric Visit Site to learn more

McREL’s Education Leadership Evaluation Systems, such as the one for central office administrator evaluations, are organized around four framework components:
1. Purposeful Community
2. Managing Change
3. Focus of Leadership
4. Management

Each component contains several elements. These elements are a critical feature of the component that characterizes a behavior to be evaluated. The elements have four levels of professional practice with descriptors for developing, proficient, accomplished and distinguished.

Central Office Administrator
Rubric Author: McREL International

Visit Site to learn more

This rubric has been designed to support school leaders who are not principals as they work to make explicit connections between their actions, decisions, and learning and the improvements to teaching and learning in the schools they lead.

Like the MPPR, the Multidimensional Leadership Performance Rubric has two major components. The first supports the use of the Educational Leadership Policy Standards: ISLLC 2008. This component is organized by ISLLC domain, with five dimensions, culled by clustering and categorizing the ISLLC “functions.” These dimensions (Culture, Sustainability, Instructional Program, Capacity Building, and Strategic Planning Process) are consistent throughout this component, though not all appear in every domain. Descriptors are specific to each domain. The second component of the MLPR supports Goal Setting and Attainment and has dimensions that are arranged to scaffold the goal setting process, from the initial defining of goals, through action planning, implementation, monitoring and evaluation.

Assistant Principals Directors Department Chairs
Rubric Author: Joanne Picone-Zocchia

Download Rubric Visit Site to learn more